Visit to the Whitworth

Richard Forster’s realistic drawing’s, these were three large studies almost the same as my height 5ft5″ which to me appeared like an arial snapshot of the foamy water at a seashore but as you get closer you see that this effect is accomplished by a collection of tiny interlinking chalk strokes.

What I found familiar about Forster’s work is that when drawing from still life he uses secondary images from books and magazines as well as primary photos and this is the same process I had to go through for my first project.

 

Below is the work of contemporary designers who respond to environmental issues I also found this relevant to the work I previously did on Globalisation.

 

 

There was also the Art_Textiles exhibition which I enjoyed as several pieces questioned social, political and artistic ideas through the medium of fibre arts.

I wasn’t too keen on the Cosmo exhibition (The Starry Messenger, B. Williams)

Leave a Reply

